i’m on fire

This morning I read an article from Ask Men about how to blog to make money (link). Needless to say, it’s been my goal since blogs became hip to create one so awesome it would allow me an escape from the doldrums of work monotony and a ticket into the glitz and glamour of the swag life. Unfortunately, this didn’t work with my first attempt at acquiring free beauty samples, and it isn’t working now.

The first tip the AM article suggests is finding your niche – their example was tuna – this way you’ll become an industry expert, thus commanding the inevitable endorsement that comes from free stuff. And herein lies my first roadblock – I have no niche; I’m nicheless. More than just a dilemma of potential finances, this is a serious existential crisis.

Ideally, there should be something defining about me, something that I love above all else, that I’m passionate about. But passion has never really been my forte. The ‘About You’ sections of questionnaires always stump me, because I don’t really have any talents or hobbies.

I rarely cook anymore; I travel when I have dollars – but not enough for it to warrant top billing; I’m not artistically inclined. I watch movies a lot, but I’m no film aficionado; I like clothes in the sense that I like looking good, but don’t have the energy or finances to follow breaking trends; I definitely don’t scrapbook; and I could care less about the cast of the Jersey Shore or any other reality tv show (TC excluded, obvs).

The only thing I can stand to do much of is read – and that’s b/c it doesn’t require that much actual effort. I think therein lies the crux of my entire (self-perpetuated) talentlessness – I don’t really understand the idea of a passion that requires work (ie gardening, decoupaging, dancing, singing, volunteering, anything with an ‘ing’ come to think of it).

So, I’m reaching out to my few readers in the hope that you all might be closet geniuses – help me find my niche! I’ll shower you with free swag. SWAG!!! Together we can make this blog profitable (and by together I mean mostly you*)

The other two tips the article mentions are to pick an industry with money; annnnnd create original content. We’ll deal with those when we get there. Rome wasn’t built in a day after all…

2 comments
  1. It amazes me some of the profitable blogs that are out there, so clearly ANYTHING is possible. I hope someday to make some cheddar doing something I love so much, but my advice is to just keep doing whatever it is you feel passionate about (which you might not even be aware of yet) and good things will come. Perhaps you shall be rich in spirit.

    Maybe I can get a job writing the fortunes inside fortune cookies?

    • hahahah *’rich in spirit’*. yes, that’s it! i’ll pay my rent in spirit riches! they’ll never evict me now 🙂

      and mine to you madam – ‘you will find love before Flag Day is over’.

Leave a comment